Wondering what grains have gluten? Here are common grains that contain gluten and should be avoided by those following a gluten-free diet.*
Gluten Containing Grains
including the following wheat varieties
- bulgar wheat
- einkorn wheat
- khorasan wheat (KAMUT®)
- wheat starch*
*Some wheat starch will be labeled gluten-free. For wheat starch to be labeled gluten-free it must be processed to remove the presence of gluten to below 20ppm. If wheat starch isn’t labeled gluten-free, avoid it.
Including malt products that are derived from barley.
- malted barley flour
- malt extract
- malt flavoring
- malted milk
- malted milkshakes
- malt syrup
- malt vinegar
Oats are a complex subject for two reasons: handling and reaction. Most oats are grown and processed in a way that exposes them to cross-contact with wheat. In addition, many people with celiac disease react to oats. If you decide to introduce them to your diet, select oats that are labeled gluten-free.
*The information provided on this website has not been evaluated by the FDA and is not intended to diagnose, treat, prevent, or cure any disease.